Policy leaders, including Mayor Kirk Watson, to recognize inaugural committee for advisory roles in Austin’s transit investments

December 1, 2023

Members of the Austin City Council, Austin Transit Partnership and CapMetro will honor the Community Advisory Committee with Distinguished Service Awards at a ceremony where Austin Mayor Kirk Watson; Veronica Castro de Barrera, ATP Chair; and Jeffrey Travillion, CapMetro Chair and Travis County Commissioner, will provide remarks and formal recognitions on behalf of the three organizations.

This event will celebrate the contributions of CAC members including their dedication to representing Austin’s diverse community as they advise on anti-displacement and equity matters related to Project Connect.

To learn more about this event, please visit atptx.org/event/cac-distinguished-service-awards/.


Austin City Council Members
Austin Transit Partnership Board of Directors
CapMetro Board of Directors 
Community Advisory Committee Members


Friday, Dec. 1
3 – 5 p.m.


Austin Transit Partnership
203 Colorado Street
Austin, TX 78701


There will be video/photo opportunities of the ceremony and Awais Azhar, CAC Chair, will be available for interviews throughout the event.

About Austin Transit Partnership

The Austin Transit Partnership (ATP) is the local government corporation responsible for implementing Project Connect and leading Austin Light Rail.

ATP is responsible for the day-to-day implementation, planning, financing, execution and oversight of Austin Light Rail.

In November 2020, Austin voters approved a referendum (“Prop A”) to provide a dedicated revenue stream to fund investments in Project Connect, a program of transit improvements, including Austin Light Rail. More information on the original Proposition can be found at https://www.austintexas.gov/2020PropA